Stephen Rees's blog

Thoughts about the relationships between transport and the urban area it serves

Local Election results

with 5 comments

cbc.ca is probably the easiest way to find out what happened where you live in BC – or where you are interested in if you don’t.

Vancouver has seen a dramatic change. Vision and COPE together took nearly all the seats on Council plus of course the mayor’s seat and only one NPA Councillor survived (Suzanne Anton). That being said people like Michael Geller did garner a lot of votes and the list of those getting not quite enough votes has some very prominent names. The turnout was dreadful (30.39%). Robertson now says that dealing with homelessness is his first priority, and that is a Good Thing. Charlie Smith on his Georgia Straight blog has some interesting thoughts about where the NPA goes next.

Richmond sees no change at all. Nearly half the voters only seemed to want to vote only for the Mayor, which I think is very odd. Neither of the two challengers had anything useful to say – and there really was no progressive choice to make here – so I left that line undrawn on my ballot. We now have three Councillors called Halsey-Brand. Name recognition is obviously more important than party allegiance here. Kiichi Kumagai tried to make a comeback and didn’t and the only incumbent to lose her seat was Cynthia Chen. Michael Wolfe got a respectable 8000+ votes but not enough to get elected. Turnout in Richmond was only 22.38%. Which is disgraceful. I am pleased to see my old friends Grace Tsang and Debbie Tablotney back on School Board: commiserations to Mike Starchuk.

Elsewhere Lois Jackson stays on in Delta but I think Krista Engeland would have made a nice change. But Jackson polled more than all four of her oponents so she is safer there than her performance warrants.   Paul Hillsdon also did well in Surrey but did not get elected. Neither did Alvin Epp out in Abbotsford, or Sonya Paterson in Langley who came close but 400 votes short. But not as heartbreaking as the loss of the Green Party’s Ben West in Electoral Area A where hardly anyone voted and he came out 10 votes short (209 to the winner Maria Harris at 219). And I am sorry to say Bernadette “No Trucking Freeway” Keenan got very little support in Surrey.

So it seems that Vancouver is more progressive now than it was but elsewhere not much different. Personalities not politics I think – but I will be reading the local papers with interest. What I thought was really odd was that two people I “follow” on Twitter asked there what had happened rather than going to a news site!

Written by Stephen Rees

November 16, 2008 at 12:01 pm

Posted in politics

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I voted municipally for the first time, changing my mind at the last minute. The Vancouver Sun survey sheet helped me decide quickly, and 2 of my 3 choices were elected. Unfortunately, only 4 out of however many, 9 I think, actually answered it which I think is silly, so I only looked at those. I’m deeply disappointed for Ben, but congratulate his team’s huge efforts. Paul’s turnout was very impressive so I’m happy for him and he’ll have great things ahead. I looked at the results for the Valley and it seems they elected many pro-transit folks. So good news out there. The guy I voted for who didn’t get in mentioned light rail in his survey which I didn’t expect, but I can’t remember if the others did. So there’s some talk out here which is encouraging. I’m happy of course about Gregor, and Andrea Reimer. I’m optimistic about the change in course.

    Erika Rathje

    November 16, 2008 at 4:55 pm

  2. CBC was the only online source which did much of a job of getting the results out. The City of Vancouver site claimed that it would be updating “every 5 to 7 minutes” but from the time the polls closed at 8:00 to 10:30 when it was all over it still had nothing but zeroes with the time stuck at 1930.

    Civicvotebc.ca didn’t seem to be doing much more that was useful. CTV did a little better though it just had results about 20 minutes behind CBC’s and not much more. Global just took me to the boilerplate canada.com website which was a complete waste of space.

    CBC TV, of course, missed most of it due to Hockey Night in Canada. The only television coverage seemed to be on Shaw, and good on them.

    Bill Kinkaid

    November 16, 2008 at 10:08 pm

  3. The City of Vancouver site was updated more frequently than advertised. I know — I was checking all evening.

    Sungsu

    November 17, 2008 at 6:23 am

  4. Bernadette “NTF” Keenan may not have pulled in a big share of the vote, but she did what no else would do – got people in Surrey talking about Gateway and the SFPR – especially the other candidates.

    badfreeway

    November 17, 2008 at 6:01 pm

  5. Hey from 271 federally, to 5800 municipally is a big jump. Heard it said Kevin Falcon told Donna Passmore she was the only person opposed to Gateway South of the Fraser. He can’t say that anymore. Of course am now running provincially and 5 months of campaigning for and election is going to be great, after doing the first two in about 6 weeks…. and I wasn’t last. So don’t be discouraged as Bad Freeway said people were talking about Gateway and the Freeway, and people from all over Surrey including Semiahmoo and West Panorama Ridge told me they voted for me.

    Bernadette Keenan

    November 25, 2008 at 11:43 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,067 other followers

