Stephen Rees's blog

Thoughts about the relationships between transport and the urban area it serves

Vancouver Voters’ Guide Blogging Contest

with 3 comments

The following came to my inbox today from Mark Latham

I’m a semi-retired economist working on democratic media reform. Based on similar contests I’ve sponsored for UBC student elections, I’m now launching a “Vancouver Voters’ Guide Blogging Contest”. The idea is that voter-directed funding will encourage bloggers to create helpful guides to Vancouver municipal issues and electoral candidates.

Vancouverites are invited to vote on a real-time on-line ranking of blogs. To start it off, I browsed the web and found ten blogs (including yours) that cover Vancouver issues. The initial ranking at this point is mostly random; it will change soon based on votes coming in. Please let me know if you’d prefer not to have your blog included.

The ballot: www.votermedia.org/vancouver/vote

Contest info: www.votermedia.org/vancouver

UBC contest: www.votermedia.org/ubc

My blog on this project: http://votermedia.blogspot.com/

I had not thought that I would comment very much on City of Vancouver polling issues – but I do hope that Vancouver issues I have touched on will be significant in the election. I have posted quite a bit about the Burrard Bridge – an issue which I would have regarded as being sufficient of itself to get Sam Sullivan and Peter Ladner tossed on the grounds that they are apparently incapable of simple arithmetic. I have also castigated David Cadman at a COPE meeting on transportation for not saying anything about the Gateway – which given the dumping of lots more traffic into East Vancouver and the City’s supine acceptance of it, is another reason to vote for anyone but NPA. Not that I am am partisan of course. Then there is the housing issue and the Province’s current shameful treatment of tenants of Little Mountain. Of course the City takes no responsibility for housing. The there is the awful mess of the downtown eastside – which has been steadily getting worse and everyone must take the blame for. Cambie Street is not the City’s fault either – but they have not exactly covered themselves with glory there. And as far as I know no politician is claiming credit for the Carrall Street bike lane which is a small but significant step in the right direction. Does this qualify me for for a cash prize? Naaaaah

Written by Stephen Rees

May 12, 2008 at 4:12 pm

Posted in politics

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Stephen,

    I have voted already. You know that I like your blog, as I like Paul Hillsdon’s. Bill Tieleman is very smart and I like his writing. Eby fights the good fight.

    However, I have to say that I’m quite disappointed at the fact that a large number of the bloggers who are nominated focus either are primarily very strong critics to the local/provincial government (not that the local governments have done a good job, anyways). I did not see any local bloggers who just comment on Vancouver issues (note that I said comment and not criticize).

    Maybe I tend to look at the world with rose-tinted glasses, but not everything should be criticism. I for one enjoy reading about the history of Vancouver/the Lower Mainland. However, if this voting thingy is focused on people who cover electoral issues PRIMARILY then I guess the choices are the appropriate ones.

    Raul

    May 13, 2008 at 12:41 am

  2. Minor point – I don’t think Little Mountain is the City’s fault either – is that not a BC Housing project, managed by BC Housing?

    Lb

    May 13, 2008 at 9:33 am

  3. Of course – you are absolutely right. The post will be corrected.

    Stephen Rees

    May 13, 2008 at 9:42 am


Leave a Reply

