Stephen Rees's blog

Thoughts about the relationships between transport and the urban area it serves

It takes a village to raise a panic

with 4 comments

Pete McMartin did a really good job for the NPA yesterday in deflating the rhetoric around the proposed loan for the Olympic Village. Because, of course, all that is really going on is an election and Vision needed a story to deflect attention from the shock and  horror of Gregor Robertson’s SkyTrain ticket. Which was also not the end of civilisation as we know it, but a rather tawdry stunt by NPA supporters.

So in terms of election coverage I think both parties came out even, but I imagine the only impact any of this made is to increase (if that is possible) the level of cynicism about local politics. Neither story will have changed the minds of committed voters, and the turn out I expect will be as dismal as usual – or maybe worse.

COPE’s effort to get noticed – the free bus service I told you about on Friday – seems to have been ignored so far. At least by the Asper conglomerate. Dave Fields tells me that people yesterday using the service received it quite well.  I expect a lot of them already had transfers and passes in their pockets but “free” does get noticed.

Free Bus

Free Bus

Written by Stephen Rees

November 9, 2008 at 9:52 am

Posted in politics

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stephen,

    Just thought I’d let you know that I got your blogpost on a Google Alert but when I tried to click on it, it took me to a weird Pennsylvania election site. I’m mentioning it because I’m dealing with my own virus someone attached to my blog when people try to link to it from Google. Maybe it’s nothing but …

    Frances

    Frances

    November 9, 2008 at 10:42 am

  2. Nice to know you are reading me, Frances. I will try to check that out

    Stephen Rees

    November 9, 2008 at 10:47 am

  3. […] a comment » Today Miro Cernetig takes the opposite view to that expressed by Pete McMartin on Saturday. He does some sums to show what the City could be on the hook for, if the whole deal […]

  4. That bus is a beaut! Bravo COPE.

    badfreeway

    November 10, 2008 at 11:56 pm


Leave a Reply

